Welcome to your first day at AFEX: Here’s what to expect

AFEX
3 min readJun 21, 2021

--

Boluwatife Fadele is a Trade Execution Analyst. Here, she reflects on her journey so far at AFEX, the importance of understanding the commodities ecosystem, and everything you need to know about working at AFEX.

One word, fun. No two days are ever the same. I wake up every morning excited to dress up and go to work because that is the kind of joy you feel working at AFEX. Just like others, I came in intending to work in the corporate space. I was expecting uptight policies, a standard intense work environment where everyone would just go about their business and worry only about work. To my surprise, I found AFEX to have the most interesting and active work environment which is rare among corporate firms.

It is a space for people who are determined to always work together at all times and having fun while at it. I felt at home immediately. However, it was a bit challenging from the start.

I was overwhelmed at first. As someone enthusiastic about getting into the firm and hit the ground running immediately, I discovered that there were a lot of things I needed to learn not just for getting started on my job but to understand the fundamentals of the commodities market and what AFEX does. It is a different ball game. Luckily I had colleagues who are personable and willing to help me out on anything critical to understanding and getting started on my job role. It was a beautiful experience, still is.

The moment I started working with AFEX, I realized the importance of diversifying as a professional. I had always looked at things from a one-way street. The goal is to become an analyst but nothing says I should follow one path. Working in the commodities space, an ecosystem that has not been well researched in Africa presents a growth opportunity for any professional. This is a very exciting time to be at AFEX because this is a commodities player that is evolving every day and will become the biggest in Africa.

As a new hire, if you have the drive and enthusiasm, you can make a big impact at AFEX. It is a learning curve over here. Therefore, you must keep an open mind, be willing to learn how the commodities market work, and build strong relationships with the team. The momentum here only makes us more committed to being efficient at our jobs and there is plenty of room to expand your career. I believe the success of what we do at AFEX is built on collaboration and the positive energy of the team. So fasten your seat belt and get ready for a new exciting ride. Every day is not the same, it gets better. And you get to learn a lot on the job.

Stay Connected

If you enjoyed this, give us a couple of claps and share within your network!

Stay tuned to the memoirs of Xperts as they reveal their experiences and drop some deep, expert knowledge. Watch out for the next part in our next post. Follow us on Twitter or LinkedIn to stay in the loop.

--

--

AFEX

AFEX’s infrastructure and platforms drive capital to build a trust economy in Africa’s commodity markets.